Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Department Chairs--The Early Years

Biographical and bibliographical information on the university's department chairs from the historical past.

Mirion Perry Bowers, MD, Founding Chair, Department of Otolaryngology, 1975-1977

                                       Mirion Perry Bowers, MD

Dr. Bowers was born in Bascom, Florida. He graduated from Meharry Medical College School of Medicine in 1963. In 1972, Dr. Bowers developed and approved the Residency Training Program in Otolaryngology within four months of the opening of Martin Luther King, Jr. General Hospital. In 1975, he founded the Department of Otolaryngology at Charles R. Drew Postgraduate Medical School and King Hospital.


Bowers MP. The management of traumatic facial nerve injuries. J Natl Med Assoc. 1975;67(2):103-148.

Bowers MP, Laryngoceles. Medical Bulletin. 1970; 28: 5.

Danforty HD, Bowers MP. A one-stage method of ear lobe piercing. EENT Digest. 1970; 27: 71-75.