Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CDU Library Covid-19 Closure: Frequently Asked Questions

This LibGuide lists frequently asked questions (FAQ) that the library received since the start of the Covid-19 pandemic.

FAQ Sections

Since the closure of CDU library due to the COVID-19 pandemic, library staff have received numerous questions.  Questions that were frequently asked are listed in this LibGuide and are organized into the following sections.  Stroll down to peruse questions in each section or click on the following link to take you to the section of interest:

Circulation Services FAQ

Library Resources FAQ

Reference and Research Services FAQ

Inter-Library Loan (ILL) FAQ

Information For Faculty

IT/Connection/Password FAQ

*Please accept cookies to access library databases and resources*

Circulation Services FAQ

Q: How do I reach the library by phone?

A: Due to the COVID-19 pandemic the library is closed but staff are monitoring phones Monday- Thursday 8- 8:30 p.m., Friday 8-6 p.m. The weekend hours are as follows Saturday 9-4:45 p.m. and Sunday 10 – 3 p.m. Please call us at (323) 563-4869. If you call after hours you can leave us a voice mail and a staff member will return your call.

Q: May I check out books from the library?

A: Due to the COVID-19 pandemic the library is closed.  Therefore, books may not be checked out until the library is reopened and staffed.

Q: When will the library reopen?

A: We do not have a specific time frame for reopening.  Please check with your program or watch for University broadcasts.

Q: Do you still offer poster printing service?

A: Yes. Please email your request to posters@cdrewu.edu.  Click here to take you to poster services LibGuide for further instructions on how to get your poster printed.  Since the library is closed, please give us an advanced notice of at least 3 working days and there may be additional time needed to fulfill your request.

For more information please contact library2@cdrewu.edu

Library Resources FAQ

Q:  Are any of my course textbooks on Online Reserve?

A:  Yes.  Many of the textbooks assigned by your teachers are available online.  They are listed in the LibGuide for each of CDU’s academic programs.  Go to the library’s home page (https://www.cdrewu.edu/library) and click the link to your academic program.  Look for the list of online textbooks for the current semester.  You will have to log in.

Q:  What ebooks can I access while working off campus?

A:  Ebook “packages” from a variety of vendors are purchased by the library, which has access to more than 200,000 titles.  Unfortunately, there is currently no way to search across all titles.  The ebooks libguide provides links to the vendor packages, describes strategies for finding useful books, and displays a subject guide to ebooks.  Some vendors allow you to search across all of the titles in their “package.” You will need to log in to view ebooks.

https://cdrewu.libguides.com/ebooks

Q: What databases are available for me to complete my research while off campus?

A:  The library provides a variety of databases for finding quality health information.  All of them are configured to also provide links to the full text of articles subscribed to by the CDU library.  See the databases LibGuide for a description of all the databases and links to them.  https://cdrewu.libguides.com/database

At CDU, the most popular are:

PubMed (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?dr=abstract&otool=caumkjlib ).  Coverage includes clinical medicine, biomedical science, and health care.  Follow the gold CDU icon on the abstract to link to available full text.  You may have to log in to see the full text.

CINAHL:  Follow the link in the Quicklinks box on the library’s home page.  You will have to log in.  This database focuses on nursing and allied health professions.  A link to the Article linker accompanies each citation.  Click on “External Link Icon” to proceed to the full text links if available.

Google Scholar:  Covers the whole range of academic endeavor.  Access Google Scholar from the Quicklink on the Library’s  home page.  After you have completed your search, click on the links in the right margin to proceed to the full text. 

Q:  What journals does the CDU library subscribe to that I can access from off campus?

A:  All of the journals accessible remotely are listed in the “Journal Master List.”  There is a link to the Journal Master List on the CDU library’s home page, in the “Collections” group.  You can browse the list by the title of the journal, or you can search for a title.  Each entry gives you one or more links to the title and the dates of availability of full text.  You will have to log in to most of the titles.

Q:  How do I find an article?

A:  This has two answers:

  1. If you have a subject or topic to find articles about, select an appropriate database.  Follow the guide above to see what is available.  Enter your search terms and run the search.  View the results to determine which retrieved articles are relevant to your subject or topic.  Click on the link or icon to proceed to the link box and retrieve the article.
  2. If you have been given a reference to an article, with journal title, date, pages, etc., use the Journal Master List to find the title on its website.  Use the date, volume, issue, and pages to navigate to the article.

Q: Does the CDU have off-campus access to any streaming video resources?

A:  Yes.  The CDU Library subscribes to the Health collection on Films on Demand.  Use the link in the Quicklinks area on the library’s home page.  You will have to log in.

For more information contact Library2@cdrewu.edu

Reference & Research Services FAQ

Q: What type of librarian support can I receive for my term/research paper?

A: Librarians are available to providing training on searching library databases, APA formatting, and Endnote.

Q: How do I make an appointment for my research?

A: Please send your request to: library2@cdrewu.edu.

Q: How do I contact a librarian?

A: You may contact a librarian by sending an email to: library2@cdrewu.edu

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) FAQ

Q: What is an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service?

A: ILL is a service that enables CDU students and faculty to obtain materials that are not available from library’s print or electronic resources. 

Q: How do I place an ILL request?

A: When you searched for a journal article or any other library's materials that CDU does not own, you will see a page that will have a link to the ILL request form.

The ILL Request form can be found on the library home page:

Or you can CLICK HERE to access the form.

Q: How soon can I expect my request be filled?

A: It will most likely take 5-7 working days to fill a request.  With most libraries closed due to Covid-19, it may take longer to fill the request.

Q: How will I get notified when my request is filled?

A: As soon as your request is filled, you will be notified via email.

Q: What type of materials can be requested?

A: At present, we are only able to process ILL request for journal articles. 

For more information, contact library2@cdrewu.edu

Information for Faculty

Q: How do I request library instruction for my class?

A: Faculty may contact the Library Director to request library instruction.

darleneparkerkelly@cdrewu.edu

Q: What services does the library offer to faculty?

A: Currently, the library offers the following services to faculty: research consultation, manuscript verification, one-on-one training on specific databases, and Endnote training.

For more information please contact: library2@cdrewu.edu

IT/Connection/Password FAQ

Q: How do I sign into EZProxy to access library electronic resources such as to view Bates videos, ebooks, or to download journal articles?

A: To sign in EZProxy, please use your CDU email username (without @cdrewu.edu) and email password.  After 3 failed attempts, please wait 30 minutes to try again. Also, it is helpful to clear cache from your browser.

Q: How do I sign into to mycdu portal, webmail, Blackboard?

A: To sign in to your webmail or blackboard or mycdu portal, you will need to enter your username@cdrewu.edu and webmail password.

Q: I don’t know or maybe I forgot my password, how can I reset it?

A: After three times trying to sign in unsuccessfully, your account will be locked.  You can wait for 30 minutes later to sign in again. To reset your password (password expires every 6 months):  https://psswrd.cdrewu.edu/    If that doesn't work, you will have to contact the IT Helpdesk:  helpdesk@cdrewu.edu or 323 – 563 – 4990 

For more information, contact library2@cdrewu.edu