LibGuides at the CDU Health Sciences Library: College of Medicine COM Students Year 3: Clerkship: Year 3: Clerkship

Clerkship Basics

This guide is provided to support CDU's Clerkship/Third Year Students. The LibGuide.highlights tools and resources that support evidence-based medicine (EBM), and only provides selection of resources available through the library or freely available online. Please consult your clerkship syllabi for the required and recommended readings for the most reliable rotation requirements.

Links for Clerkship Rotations

CDU Medical	Clerkships
Emergency Medicine (2 weeks)	Obstetrics Gynecology (6 weeks)
Family Medicine (4 weeks)	Pediatrics (6 weeks)
Internal Medicine (12 weeks)	Psychiatry (4 weeks)
Neurology (4 weeks)	Surgery (10 weeks)

Required Databases

UpToDate
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource (Point of Care) that covers more than 10,000 topics in 22 medical specialties which includes articles, graphics, patient information handouts, medical calculators, a drug database and drug interactions tool (in partnership with Lexicomp®). Quickly and easily find specific, practical recommendations for diagnosis and treatment to your clinical questions.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

DATABASES AT THE CDU LIBRARY (comprehensive list)

General Tools (Calculators, Dictionaries, Checklists, Etc.)

All Drugs: Generics, Trade Names, Drug Classes, & Patient Handouts
Clinical Calculators; by catagories Body Metrics; Cardiology; Critical Care; Drug Calculators;Gastrointestinal;Hematology/Oncology;Infectious Diseases;Metabolic; Nephrology; Neurology/Psychiatry; Other; Pediatrics; Pulmonology; Rheumatology/Immunology; Unit Conversion Calculators
Clinical Checklist®, Lab Advisor™ & Drugpoints® System Clinical Checklist® is an easy-to-use tool to manage "always-do" and "never-do" care recommendations. Lab Advisor™ is designed to aid in interpreting and managing clinical laboratory test information. It also supplies clinicians with information including which lab tests are appropriate for a given condition or how lab test results should be interpreted. DrugPoints® System gives you direct access to the exact level of drug information you need to do your job.
Diagnosaurus: Differential Diagnoses Diagnosaurus provides differential diagnoses (DDx) of symptoms, signs, and diseases. By using the various indexes, you can choose to view entries by organ system, or select to view the list of symptoms only, the list of diseases only, or all of the entries. For example, if you wish to review the causes of a patient's chief complaint, simply select the symptom or sign from the alphabetical listing. If you have made a diagnosis and wonder what other disorders to consider, select your diagnosis from the list to see its DDx. [Access Medicine]

Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary by Donald Venes
24th ed., F. A. Davis Company, 2021.
Stedman's Medical Dictionary
28th ed., Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, 2006.

Clerkship Case Studies & Tools

AQUIFER COURSES
Aquifer courses are evidence-based, peer-reviewed, and continuously updated to support best practices in clinical teaching and learning. Our library of courses covers a broad range of disciplines and critical healthcare topics.
LWW Health Library Cases
Search by specialty or presentation
McGraw Hill/Access Medicine Clinical Medicine Cases
Case file texts for: Anesthesiology, Emergency Medicine, Family Medicine, Internal Medicine, Neurology, Ob/Gyn, Pediatrics, and Psychiatry.

USMLE Prep: Step 2

UWORLD A challenging USMLE prep tool using 3,700+ Step 1 questions based on real-life clinical scenarios that test high-yield basic science concepts; in-depth explanations of preclinical and clinical topics; performance and improvement tracking using exam-like software interface, highlight relative strengths and weaknesses, and gauge performance with peer-to-peer comparison.

AMBOSS - Study smarter, not harder. AMBOSS is a breakthrough medical learning platform dedicated to helping future physicians succeed on their USMLE exams.

Clinical Key Student Is an interactive medical learning platform with books, videos, images and quick access summaries. You can take and share notes and create revision flashcards. Registration is required to access content and personalized features.

Complete Anatomy is an application which is an anatomy learning platform. It contains gross 3D anatomy models, microscopic anatomy, an atlas, videos, courses, and interactive radiology images.

Osmosis: is study support platform covering the basic sciences, organ systems, clinical reasoning and more. It includes videos, questions, flashcards, notes and other resources on a range of medical and health topics.to help you study. (Elsevier publication)

Pathoma is an USMLE Step 1 study resource for pathology. There is access online videos, get the print book, and more.

Sketchy is a powerful visual learning platform designed to retain and apply content for mastering both preclinical and clinical information. The videos (most 10-30 min.) use humor and art to foster long-term information retention, recall, reduce study time, and introduce some fun.