LibGuides at the CDU Health Sciences Library: COM Clerkship (Year 3): Surgery: Clerkship: Surgery Texts & Study Tools

Required Surgery Ebooks

Surgery by Christian de Virgilio ; Paul N. Frank ; Areg Grigorian
Springer, 2015.

Required Databases

UpToDate
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource (Point of Care) that covers more than 10,000 topics in 22 medical specialties which includes articles, graphics, patient information handouts, medical calculators, a drug database and drug interactions tool (in partnership with Lexicomp®). Quickly and easily find specific, practical recommendations for diagnosis and treatment to your clinical questions.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

DATABASES AT THE CDU LIBRARY (comprehensive list)

Recommended Surgery Ebooks

CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment Surgery, by Gerard M. Doherty
16th ed. McGraw-Hill, 2025.
Essentials of General Surgery and Surgical Specialties, 7e by Peter F. Lawrence
6th ed. LWW, 2019.
NMS Surgery by Bruce Jarrell; Eric D. Strauch; Stephen M. Kavic
7th. ed. , Wolters Kluwer, 2022.
On Call Surgery by Gregg A. Adams; Stephen D. Bresnick; Jared Forrester; Graeme Rosenberg
4th e., Elsevier, 2020.
Social determinants of health in surgery by Similia Obeng
Elsevier, 2024.
Surgical Recall by Lorne Blackbourne
9th Ed., Wolters Kluwer, 2022.
The Washington Manual of Surgery by Mary E. Klingensmith
8th ed., Wolters Kluwer, 2019.

ADDITIONAL SURGERY TEXTS

Recomended Surgery Study Tools

AQUIFER COURSES
Aquifer courses are evidence-based, peer-reviewed, and continuously updated to support best practices in clinical teaching and learning. Our library of courses covers a broad range of disciplines and critical healthcare topics.

UWORLD A challenging USMLE prep tool using 3,700+ Step 1 questions based on real-life clinical scenarios that test high-yield basic science concepts; in-depth explanations of preclinical and clinical topics; performance and improvement tracking using exam-like software interface, highlight relative strengths and weaknesses, and gauge performance with peer-to-peer comparison.

Clerkship Case Studies & Tools

LWW Health Library Cases
Search by specialty or presentation

Case Files Surgery by Eugene C. Toy; Terrence H. Liu; Andre R. Campbell; Barnard Palmer
6th ed., McGraw-Hill, 2021.
NMS Surgery Casebook by Bruce Jarrell; Stephen M. Kavic; Eric D. Strauch
3rd ed., Wolters Kluwer, 2021.

COM Clerkship (Year 3): Surgery

chatbox

Librarian

Required Surgery Ebooks

Required Databases

Recommended Surgery Ebooks

Recomended Surgery Study Tools

Clerkship Case Studies & Tools