Is an interactive medical learning platform with books, videos, images and quick access summaries. You can take and share notes, and create revision flashcards. Registration is required to access content and personalized features.
There are thousands of journals in the health sciences. Each may publish hundreds of articles in a year. It can be a challenge to identify those that support the research you are doing. The CDU Health Sciences Library subscribes to many of these journals and can provide full text of articles from journals to which we subscribe.
This Guide will help you use the tools to identify the articles and access the full text. See the Getting Journal Articles and Using the Article Linker Screen boxes below for the basics of article retrieval.
Do you already have a citation? Has someone given you a reference or did you get a reference from another article's bibliography?
Use the Journal Master List. (A link is also on the library's home page, under Collections.)
Search or browse to the journal's title. There may be one or more links to the journal on different sites. Notice the dates for each and select the one that contains the dates you are looking for, and click on it.
Once on the journal's site, use the year, volume, issue, and page to navigate to the article.
If you want a PDF that looks like the published article, look for a link.
Alternative method: Click on "Look up article." Fill in the form. It looks like you need to add at least the year, volume, and first page of the article in order to get a link to the article. The author and title don't add much precision.
All of the article databases in the CDU Library are configured to link to the Article Linker, which will tell you whether the article is available through one of the journal subscriptions held by the library. In most of the databases, access to the Article Linker is via the yellow CDU icon .
In Google Scholar, the link is Full Text @ CDU in the right-hand margin of the search results. If the links don’t show up in Google Scholar, see the Google Scholar tips sheet.
The document below will demonstrate the important information on the Article Linker screen.
PubMed is a tool (citation database) you will use again and again to answer all types of medical questions throughout your career. Check out the tutorials noted below or contact the Health Science Library for additional assistance.
A complete list of NLM PubMed tutorial videos are avialable @ PubMed® Online Training (nih.gov)
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is an index of English-language and selected other-language journal articles about nursing, allied health, biomedicine and healthcare. Index coverage is from the mid-1940s to present.
