Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding and accessing journal articles.: Home

Welcome

There are thousands of journals in the health sciences.  Each may publish hundreds of articles in a year.  It can be a challenge to identify those that support the research you are doing.  

The CDU Health Sciences Library subscribes to many of these journals and can provide full text of articles from jounals to which we subscribe.

This Guide will help you use the tools to identify the articles and access the full text.

Decoding the Article Linker Screen

   

All of the article databases in the CDU Library are configured to link to the Article Linker, which will tell you whether the article is available through one of the journal subscriptions held by the library.  In most of the databases, access to the Article Linker is via the yellow CDU icon  .  

In Google Scholar, the link is Full Text @ CDU in the right-hand margin of the search results.  If the links don’t show up in Google Scholar, see the Google Scholar tips sheet.

The document below will demonstrate the important information on the Article Linker screen.

Do you already have a citation?

Do you already have a citation?  Has someone given you a reference or did you get a reference from another article's bibliography?

Use the Journal Master List.  (A link is also on the library's home page, under Collections.)  

Search or browse to the journal's title.  There may be one or more links to the journal on different sites.  Notice the dates for each and select the one that contains the dates you are looking for, and click on it.

Once on the journal's site, use the year, volume, issue, and page to navigate to the article.  

If you want a PDF that looks like the published article, look for a link.

Alternative method:  Click on "Look up article."  Fill in the form.  It looks like you need to add at least the year, volume, and first page of the article in order to get a link to the article.  The author and title don't add much precision.

Article databases for Health Sciences at CDU

chatbox

chat loading...test

Chat Hours:
Monday - Thursday: 8:00 am - 7:00 pm
Friday: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
The library will open on select weekends and the hours will be posted.​​​​​​
Closed University Holidays

EndNote 20

  The CDU library has a site license for EndNote 20.  Arrange for your download by sending an email with your CDU email to the library:  library2@cdrewu.edu.  Be sure to include the type of computer you have (Windows PC or Mac).  

EndNote is an extremely important part of the research process as it allows you to store references from the articles you have read.  In most cases, the reference can be downloaded directly from the database.  If available, the PDF can be added to the article record.  When writing your paper, you will be able in insert correctly formatted in-text references and bibliography.

You will be given detailed instruction on the use of EndNote within your program.  For a quick start, try these quick guides: