Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the School of Nursing guide from the CDU Health Sciences Library. This guide contains databases, e-books, websites, and other types of online content related to the study of nursing.
Please feel free to suggest materials that you find useful and would like see inlcuded. We appreciate your help with making these pages as useful and up-to-date as possible.
Finding Nursing information in the library
Books: Use the search box at left to find books in the library.
Ebooks: The search box on the left will help you find ebooks that have been entered into the online catalog. To explore the complete collection of CDU library ebooks, use the main Ebooks guide
Journals: To see a list of all journals (print and electronic), use the Journal Master List.
Journal articles: Use one of the article databases listed on the Databases guide
Elite Continuing Education Resource Center
Large database for nursing students and working professional covering all aspects of career development, continuing education, and other issues pertinent to the profession.
Healthcare Health Hazards from OSHA
Health and safety issues for healthcare professionals
A web portal designed for all-things nursing. It includes news, university information, CE opportunities, networking, etc.
Martindale's Virtual Nursing Center
A curated collection of online resources for the nursing profession. This includes labs, lectures, courses, nursing journals, and more.
Databases for Nursing
PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
CINAHL with Full Text
The world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®, including many of the most-used journals in the index—with no embargo. Of those, 464 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search™, Health Source® or Nursing & Allied Health Collection™.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source
Search for articles in nursing and allied health fields. Includes some books, videos and other materials.
Search for Books and E-books
National Student Nurses Association
With a membership of approximately 58,000 nationwide, the National Student Nurses' Association mentors the professional development of future registered nurses and facilitates their entrance into the profession by providing educational resources, leadership opportunities, and career guidance.
American Nurses Association Enterprise
The American Nurses Association (ANA), founded in 1896, is the only full-service professional organization representing the interests of the nation's 3.1 million registered nurses through its state nurses associations, constituent member associations (federal government nurses, Guam, Virgin Islands) and nursing specialty groups, or “organizational affiliates.”
American Nurses Association/California Chapter
Providing resources and leadership for nurses to shape the nursing profession and health care today and for the future.
National League for Nursing
Promoting excellence in nursing education.
National Institute of Nursing Research
Information regarding current and future research focusing on issues that affect nursing and other health professions. One of the 27 Institutes that comprise the U. S.National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Chat With A Librarian
Monday-Thursday 8 am-8:30 pm
Friday 8 am-6 pm
Saturday 9 am-4:45 pm
Sunday 10 am-3 pm
Closed University Holidays
Nursing E-textbooks Spring 2021
This is a list of all electronic textbooks for the School of Nursing. To see a list for your program, click on the Fall 2020 Electronic Textbooks Tab.