Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for Evidence-Based Practice
ClinicalKey was designed to facilitate bedside decision making. However, with 500+ current clinical journal titles from Elsevier and 1000 ebooks, it is a rich information source. Add practice guidelines, images, First Consult, and Procedures Consult videos, and you have a powerful tool.
CINAHL with Full Text
The world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®, including many of the most-used journals in the index—with no embargo. Of those, 464 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search™, Health Source® or Nursing & Allied Health Collection™.
PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database: this database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
Finding the Evidence : Literature Searching
To find high quality articles to support Evidence-Based Practice (EBP), limit or filter your search results to retrieve only the publication or article types containing high-quality evidence. Follow the steps below to apply these limits in CINAHL and PubMed.
Pubmed: First, do your search. Look at the left panel of your search results page. Under Article Types, click "Customize" A list of article types will appear. The following article types will be useful for EBP: Guideline/Practice Guideline, Meta-Analysis, Randomized Controlled Trial, Systematic Reviews. Go to the bottom of the list and click on "Show." These article types will now be in the left panel of your search results. Click on the type you want, and your results will be "filtered" to include ony those articles.
CINAHL: Before doing your search, scroll down the search page to the "Publication Type" box. Select one or more of the types that are useful for EBP: Meta Analysis, Randomized Control Trial, Practice Guidelines, Systematic Reviews. You can select multiple types by holding down the Ctrl key while clicking on your selections. After selecting Publication Type(s), enter your other search terms and run your search.