Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PsycINFO® is an expansive abstracting and indexing database with more than 3 million records devoted to peer-reviewed literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health, making it an ideal discovery and linking tool for scholarly research in a host of disciplines.
PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Academic Psychiatry is the international Journal of the American Association of Chairs of Departments of Psychiatry, American Association of Directors of Psychiatric Residency Training, Association for Academic Psychiatry, and the Association of Directors of Medical Student Education in Psychiatry.
American Journal of Psychiatry
The American Journal of Psychiatry is the most widely read psychiatric journal in the world. Published monthly, it is an indispensable journal for all psychiatrists and other mental health professionals who need to stay on the cutting edge of virtually every aspect of psychiatry.
The British Journal of Psychiatry
The British Journal of Psychiatry is a leading international peer-reviewed psychiatric journal, covering all branches of psychiatry with a particular emphasis on the clinical aspects of each topic. Published on behalf of the Royal College of Psychiatrists, the journal’s overriding concern is to improve the prevention, investigation, diagnosis, treatment, and care of mental illness, as well as the promotion of mental health globally.
The journal provides a forum for clinicians and investigators of markedly divergent concepts, methods and orientations. Comprehensive Psychiatry focuses on original research on psychopathology.
Current Opinion in Psychiatry
Bimonthly resource provides a powerful, broad-based perspective on the most important advances from throughout the world literature. Featuring renowned guest editors and focusing exclusively on one to three topics, every issue of Current Opinion in Psychiatry delivers unvarnished, expert assessments of developments from the previous year.
Current Psychiatry Reports
Current Psychiatry Reports provides in-depth review articles contributed by international experts on the most significant developments in the field. By presenting clear, insightful, balanced reviews that emphasize recently published papers of major importance, the journal elucidates current and emerging approaches to the diagnosis, treatment, management, and prevention of psychiatric disorders.
Harvard Review of Psychiatry
Topics covered include: schizophrenia and related disorders, mood disorders, personality disorders, substance use disorders, anxiety, neuroscience, psychosocial aspects of psychiatry, ethics, psychiatric education, and much more.
From 2013 to present
JAMA Psychiatry is an international peer-reviewed journal for clinicians, scholars, and research scientists in psychiatry, mental health, behavioral science, and allied fields. JAMA Psychiatry is a member of the JAMA Network family of journals, which includes JAMA, 11 JAMA Network specialty journals, and JAMA Network Open.
Journal of Psychiatric Research
Founded in 1961 to report on the latest work in psychiatry and cognate disciplines, the Journal of Psychiatric Research is dedicated to innovative and timely studies in areas of research that include psychiatric illness, human behaviour, neuropsychopharmacology, neuroendocrinology, electrophysiology, genetics, experimental psychology and epidemiology.
From June 2014 to present
The Lancet Psychiatry, launched in June 2014, offers a fast-track experience for all authors of research papers that are selected for peer review. Articles can be published online within 8 weeks of submission. The Lancet Psychiatry considers any original research contribution that will potentially lead to change in clinical practice and thought, and informative reviews on any topic connected with psychiatry.
Psychiatric Quarterly fills an important niche by focusing on assessment, treatment, and rehabilitation of persons with psychiatric disabilities, with emphasis on care provided in public, community, and private institutional settings such as hospitals, schools, and correctional facilities. Launched as The State Hospital Quarterly in 1915, the journal received its current name in 1927.
The journal provides very rapid publication of short but complete research reports in the field of psychiatry. The scope of the journal encompasses: Biochemical, physiological, genetic, psychological, and social determinants of human behavior; Assessment of human behavior and subjective state; Evaluation of somatic and non-somatic psychiatric treatments.
World Psychiatry is the official journal of the World Psychiatric Association. It is published in three issues per year. World Psychiatry aims to disseminate information on truly significant clinical, service and research developments in the mental health field using a language that can be assimilated by the vast majority of mental health professionals worldwide.
More Psychiatric Journals
Cultural Diversity & Ethnic Minority Psychology
Cultural Diversity & Ethnic Minority Psychology® seeks to advance the psychological science of culture, ethnicity, and race through the publication of empirical research, as well as theoretical, conceptual, and integrative review articles.
Culture, Medicine and Psychiatry
Culture, Medicine and Psychiatry is an international and interdisciplinary forum for the publication of work in the fields of medical and psychiatric anthropology, cross-cultural psychiatry, and associated cross-societal and clinical epidemiological studies.
European Psychiatry is the official journal of the European Psychiatric Association, the largest international association of psychiatrists in Europe. The purpose of the EPA is to improve the lives of patients and promote professional excellence through. European Psychiatry publishes articles on topics relevant to all mental health clinicians, researchers and neuroscientists.
General Hospital Psychiatry
General Hospital Psychiatry explores the many linkages among psychiatry, medicine, and primary care. In emphasizing a biopsychosocial approach to illness and health, the journal provides a forum for professionals with clinical, academic, and research interests in psychiatry's role in the mainstream of medicine.
History of Psychiatry
History of Psychiatry is the leading peer reviewed journal publishing research articles, analysis and information across the entire field of the history of mental illness and the forms of medicine, psychiatry, cultural response and social policy, which have evolved to understand and treat it. It covers all periods of history up to the present day, and all nations and cultures.
International Journal of Methods in Psychiatric Research
The International Journal of Methods in Psychiatric Research (MPR) publishes high-standard original research of a technical, methodological, experimental and clinical nature, contributing to the theory, methodology, practice and evaluation of mental and behavioural disorders. The journal targets in particular detailed methodological and design papers from major national and international multicentre studies.
International Journal of Psychiatry in Medicine
The International Journal of Psychiatry in Medicine bridges the gap between clinical psychiatry research and primary care clinical research. The journal addresses the relevance of psychobiological, psychological, social, familial, religious, and cultural factors in the development and treatment of illness, as well as the relationship of biomarkers to psychiatric symptoms and syndromes in primary care.
Journal of Nervous and Mental Disease
Founded in 1874, The Journal of Nervous and Mental Disease is the world's oldest independent scientific monthly in the field of human behavior. Articles cover theory, etiology, therapy, social impact of illness, and research methods.
Journal of the History of the Behavioral Sciences
The Journal of the History of the Behavioral Sciences is a quarterly, peer-reviewed, journal devoted to the core disciplines of psychology, anthropology, sociology, psychiatry and psychoanalysis, economics, linguistics, communications, political science, and the neurosciences.
Transcultural Psychiatry is a fully peer reviewed international journal that publishes original research and review articles on cultural psychiatry and mental health. Cultural psychiatry is concerned with the social and cultural determinants of psychopathology and psychosocial treatments of the range of mental and behavioural problems in individuals, families and communities.
Neurobiology, Neurology, and Neuroscience
Journal of Neurology, Neurosurgery & Psychiatry
JNNP's ambition is to publish the most ground-breaking and cutting-edge research from around the world. Encompassing the entire genre of neurological sciences, our focus is on the common disorders (stroke, multiple sclerosis, Parkinson's disease, epilepsy, peripheral neuropathy, subarachnoid haemorrhage and neuropsychiatry), but with a keen interest in the Gordian knots that present themselves in the field, such as ALS.
Edited by Stephen G. Waxman, The Neuroscientist (NRO) reviews and evaluates the noteworthy advances and key trends in molecular, cellular, developmental, behavioral systems, and cognitive neuroscience in a unique disease-relevant format. Aimed at basic neuroscientists, neurologists, neurosurgeons, and psychiatrists in research, academic, and clinical settings, The Neuroscientist reviews and updates the most important new and emerging basic and clinical neuroscience research.
Progress in Neuro-psychopharmacology & Biological Psychiatry
Progress in Neuro-Psychopharmacology & Biological Psychiatry is an international and multidisciplinary journal which aims to ensure the rapid publication of authoritative reviews and research papers dealing with experimental and clinical aspects of neuro-psychopharmacology and biological psychiatry. Issues of the journal are regularly devoted wholly in or in part to a topical subject.
Psychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences
Psychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences is the official journal of the Japanese Society of Psychiatry and Neurology, publishes papers in all fields of psychiatry and related neurosciences. The journal aims to become a hub of academic exchange between Eastern and Western psychiatrists.
Psychiatry Research : Neuroimaging
Psychiatry Research: Neuroimaging publishes manuscripts on positron emission tomography, magnetic resonance imaging, computerized electroencephalographic topography, and other imaging...
Psychoneuroendocrinology publishes papers dealing with the interrelated disciplines of psychology, neurobiology, endocrinology, immunology, neurology, and psychiatry, with an emphasis on multidisciplinary studies