LibGuides at the CDU Health Sciences Library: Databases and Ebooks at the Library: Databases and E-Books at the Library

Biomedical Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
CINAHL Complete with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature database, is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health. Over 5,500 nursing and allied health journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, CEs, books, dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, software, and more are components of this resource. Full text coverage dates from 1937 to present.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window
Covers nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, consumer health, and more. ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides access to 1,200+ titles (1,050+ full text titles), plus more than 15,700 full text dissertations
ProQuest Public Health This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Public Health covers the core public health literature,with access to over 750 publications (520+ full-text), including journals, news, trade publications, reports & dissertations. Additionally, the database covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from the social and biological sciences to business for current hot topics such as disaster preparedness, obesity, etc. Coverage: 1972-present
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Search for medical articles using the OvidSP search interface.
MEDLINE Plus Health Information This link opens in a new window

NOTE: Journal articles are also part of the Clinical Key and LWW Health Library e-book platforms. We suggest researchers use PubMed and other biomedical databases first to avoid redundancy.

POINT OF CARE/CLINICAL DATABASE

UpToDate
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource (Point of Care) that covers more than 10,000 topics in 22 medical specialties which includes articles, graphics, patient information handouts, medical calculators, a drug database and drug interactions tool (in partnership with Lexicomp®). Quickly and easily find specific, practical recommendations for diagnosis and treatment to your clinical questions.

SPECIALITY DATABASES:

PsycINFO (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO supplies access to international literature in psychology, mental health, and the behavioral sciences. The database is enriched with literature from related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. All records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. Coverage 1800s to present.

LactMed Drugs and Lactation Database
From TOXNET, the Toxicology Data Network of the National Library of Medicine.

Non-Biomedical Database Resources

Databases are organized by type of content:

General Topics (General academic, news and business information):

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Database contains full text for more than 2,100 journals and over 1,700 peer-reviewed, full text journals; CDU linked. This is a multi-disciplinary database covering virtually every area of academia, as well as current hot topics.
Business Source Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database offers finance, management, and marketing literature resources. Current company profiles and Datamonitor/MarketLine Reports are included. Full Text for over 1,000 business publications dating back to 1985.
Newspaper Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides select full-text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) including USA Today, and 20 international newspapers. The database also contains select full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, The New York Daily News, The San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full-text television and radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, and NPR.
ProQuest National Newspapers Core This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of the New York Times, Christian Science Monitor, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and the Washington Post.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches for articles, books, and other scholarly content from many publishers, and attempts to provide links to the full text. When searching Google Scholar, just click on Full Text @CDREWU.EDU on the right-hand side of the screen to see if we have access to the full text.

Video & Multimedia Resources

Films on Demand
Search this collection of videos for information on general health topics or specific nursing procedures.

Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
This video database is a supplement to the Bates Examination textbook. The videos are head-to-toe and systems-based physical exam demonstrations with diverse patients from newborn to geriatric. These demonstrations emphasize clinical accuracy and patient care. Videos include taking a general patient survey, vital signs, and recording your findings to summarize the patient exam interaction.

CLINICAL SKILLS & SIMULATION PROCEDURES
All procedures organized by medical specialty.

Multimedia is included with Access Medicine, Clinical Key and LWW Health Library e-book platforms. Select resources are highlighted for each ebook platform.

ACCESS MEDICINE: Auscultation Classroom, Flashcards, Medical Specialty Infographics, Lectures, Patient Education Handouts and Procedural Videos.
CLINICAL KEY: Clinical Overviews and Trials, Drug Class Overviews and Monographs, Patient Education, Image Library, Procedure Videos, Clinical Calculators.
LWW HEALTH LIBRARY: A/V by Pre-Clinical Specialties, Journal Club, and a robust Self-Assessment database.

Access any of the above collections by clicking links in E-book Collections box below,

Dissertation Databases

ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Premier has a collection of disertations, including about 3000+ in the past years. Looking at dissertations is a great way to see a model of your research, as well as finding good references for your project.

The Proquest Dissertations & Theses Global : The Sciences and Engineering Collection database contains a large selection of DNP projects to use as examples of a successful project.

E-book Collections

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Over 150 titles in health sciences and clinical medicineBrowse by titleSearch across all titles.Good for: students in COM, FNP, post-bacOther content on site.Mobile-optimized version available.Create APA bibliography entry for chapters.
Books@Ovid-LWW This link opens in a new window
150+ titles in clinical medicine and nursing Browse by title or subject Good for: students in COM, SON.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Browse by title or subject Search across all titles Good for: students in COM, FNP, post-bac Other content on site.
Ebook Central Academic Complete This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central is a collection of scholarly ebooks (500,000+) from leading publishers. It covers the arts, business, education, health & medicine, history, law, literature & language, religion & philosophy, science & technology and the social sciences; as well as fiction titles. The ebook platform also includes a wide selection of encyclopediias, dictionaries, handbooks and other reference works.
LWW Health Library This link opens in a new window
The LWW Health Library platform (Lippincott) is a medical education resource that will help CDU health care and medical students throughout their studies: textbooks, journals, video and audio, self assessments, cases, and clinical skills. The service covers medical education, internal medicine, clerkship/rotation, and MD/DO Board prep resources.
Stat!Ref This link opens in a new window
40+ titles in medicine, nursing, and public health Browse by title. Search across all titles. Good for: students in all programs Mobile-optimized version available. Download citation to Endnote or create bibliography entry.