LibGuides at the CDU Health Sciences Library: Health Statistics: Home

Welcome

Accurate sources of health statistics inform and guide decisions regarding healthcare, policy, and research. Please make use of the resources available through this guide and suggest new ones for us to add.

Heath Statistics on Children

Kids' Inpatient Database
The Kids' Inpatient Database (KID) is one in a family of databases and software tools developed as part of the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). A Federal-State-Industry partnership sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, HCUP data inform decisionmaking at the national, State, and community levels.
Kids Count
A national and state-by-state effort to track the status of children in the United States. From the Annie E. Casey Foundations

International Health Statistics

World Health Organization (WHO) Global Health Observatory
UNICEF Statistics
UNICEF measures the situation of children and women and tracks progress through data collection and analysis. It maintains and updates global databases and promotes dissemination of evidence-based data for planning and advocacy. UNICEF is the lead United Nations (UN) agency responsible for the global monitoring of the child-related Millennium Development Goals (MDGs).

Internet Resources

Los Angeles County Department of Public Health
Statistics and Reports of Health in Los Angeles County
U.S. Statistical Abstract 1990-2012
An annual compendium of statistics from the U. S. Census Bureau. Search the abstract or link to other U. S. government statistical sites
National Center for Heath Statistics
The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) provides access to the full scope of the data and downloadable public-use data files.
CDC Wonder
Access to a large number of public health data sets. From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Explore Census Data at the U.S. Census Bureau
Searchable database of important U.S. census data
State and County QuickFacts
Statistical snapshots of cities, counties, states and the U.S. as a whole. From the U.S. Census Bureau.
Kaiser State Health Facts
Website with interactive map providing public health information for each state.
Carnegie Mellon University
A free introductory course on probability & statistics basics from Carnegie Mellon University
County Health Rankings and Roadmaps
Snapshots of health rankings by county based upon demographic factors such as education, ethnicity, and socioeconomic status.
more...less...
From the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute.
HRSA Data Warehouse
A large repository of public health information from the HRSA (Health Resources and Services Administration). Data is freely available for both researchers and the public to download and analyze.
SPA 6 South Area
Information about the community surrounding CDU.
Finding and Using Health Statistics
This is a self-study guide from the US National Library of Medicine. It describes the uses of health statistics and strategies for finding the ones you need.
California Open Data Portal
Data on social, economic, and physical aspects of California

Chat With A Librarian

chat loading...test

Health Sciences Library Hours

Monday – Thursday: 7:00 am – 10:00 pm

Friday: 7:00 am – 5:00 pm

Saturday: 9:00 am – 4:45 pm

Sunday: 10:00 am – 3:00 pm

*The Library will continue to keep you posted on changes in library hours.

SPSS @ the CDU Library

The CDU Health Sciences Library is pleased to offer installations of SPSS to CDU students, faculty and staff. To have SPSS installed on your laptop or computer, please contact the Library to schedule an appointment, 323-563-4869. SPPS installation is limited to 1 device per user.

US Health: 2010

Health, United States, 2010 Charts and Tables
A Powerpoint presentation of various health satistics as gathered during the 2010 Census.

Health Surveys for Los Angeles and California

California Health Interview Survey
CHIS is the nation's largest state health survey. Conducted every two years on a wide range of health topics, CHIS data gives a detailed picture of the health and health care needs of California's large and diverse population.
LA County Public Health Survey
The Los Angeles County Health Survey is a population based telephone survey that provides information concerning the health of Los Angeles County residents. The data are used for assessing health-related needs of the population, for program planning and policy development, and for program evaluation. The relatively large sample size allows users to obtain health indicator data for large demographic subgroups and across geographic regions of the County, including Service Planning Areas and Health Districts.