Skip to main content
Charles R. Drew University Health Sciences Library
LibGuides at the CDU Health Sciences Library
Urban Public Health
Other Interesting Public Health Resources
Search this Guide
Urban Public Health: Other Interesting Public Health Resources
A resource guide for students and faculty in the Urban Public Health program
Fall 2020 Reserve Textbooks
Public Health Communication
Disasters, Bioterrorism, and Climate Change
Public Health Organization, Goverance, Policy, and Ethics
Social and Behavioral Determinants of Health
Health in the City
Epidemiology and Biostatistics
Health Disparities and Cultural Competence
Public Health Biology and the Environment
Planning and Evaluating Programs in the Community
Diseases, Prevention, and Surveillance
Research Methods for Public Health
Other Interesting Public Health Resources
Endnote for Windows
Readings in the History of Public Health
Contagion : Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics
A fascinating collection of historical materials from Harvard University. Contains many digitized early manuscripts.
Delta Omega Classics
A collection of public health classics in full text
Tuberculosis and the Politics of Exclusion
Emily K. Abel
Rutgers University Press, 2008.
The Practice of Public Health
Knowledge Domains of Public Health
This is an amazing list of the scope of the public health profession.
Core Competencies for Public Health Professionals
From the Public Health Foundation, Council on Linkages Between Academia and Public Health Practice
Evidence-Based Practice Tutorial : Public Health
This tutorial guides you through the EBPH process, and provides links to outside resources. From the University of Wisconsin.
Advancing the Nation's Health : A Guide to Public Health Research Needs 2006-2015.
US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Northwest Center for Public Health Practice
The University of Washington School of Public Health offers an extensive collection of online courses, archived webinars and tools. Most are free.
Transforming Public Health Practice : Leadership and Management Essentials
Bernard J. Healey; Cheryll D. Lesneski
Public Health Foundations : Concepts and Practices
Elena Andresen (Editor); Erin DeFries Bouldin (Editor)
Public Health Skills : A Practical Guide for Nurses and Public Health Professionals
Lesley Coles; Elizabeth Porter
Vulnerable Populations in Other Settings
Vulnerability in Developing Countries
Wim Naudé; Amelia U. Santos-Paulino; Mark McGillivray
United Nations University Press, 2009.
Rural Populations and Health : Determinants, Disparities, and Solutions
Richard A. Crosby; Robin C. Vanderpool; Monica L. Wendel; Baretta R. Casey
Other Research Tools
Grey Literature Report
The staff of the New York Academy of Medicine hunts down unpublished information ressources. These are published in a monthly report and stored in a searchable database.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations
A large collection of dissertations to search and download. In many subject areas, from many universities.
A database of freely available NIH reports, theses and dissertations and journal articles. You must create a free account to use.
Public Health Image Library
From the US CDC. Most of these images are in the public domain, but refer to the "Copyright restrictions" box at the bottom of each page to make sure.
E-books on Race and Racism in America
Race and Ethnicity in America : A Concise History
Ronald H. Bayor
Columbia University Press, 2003.
Black and Blue : The Origins and Consequences of Medical Racism
University of California Press, 2012.
Body and Soul : The Black Panther Party and the Fight against Medical Discrimination
University of Minnesota Press, 2011.
Advanced Statistical Techniques and Other Statistics Topics
Mathematical Models in Infectious Disease Epidemiology
Peter J. White
Chapter 5 in Jonathan Cohen; William G. Powderly; Steven M. Opal, Infectious Diseases. 4th ed., Elsevier, 2017.
Why Nobody Believes the Numbers : Distinguishing Fact from Fiction in Population Health Management
John Wiley & Sons, 2012.
Large Scale Projects in eHealth : Partnership in Modernization
Bernd Blobel, Rolf Engelbrecht, and Michael A. Shifrin
IOS Press 2012.
Modern Analysis of Customer Surveys
Silvia Salini; Ron S. Kenett
Multivariate Analysis for the Biobehavioral and Social Sciences : A Graphical Approach
Linda Gask; Bulent Coskun; David Baron; Bruce L. Brown; Dawson W. Hedges; Suzanne B. Hendrix; Timothy B. Smith
News and Numbers : A Writer's Guide to Statistics
Lewis Cope; Victor Cohn; Deborah Cohn Runkle (As told to)
3rd ed., Wiley Blackwell, 2012.
Spatial Analysis along Networks
Atsuyuki Okabe; Kokichi Sugihara
Statistical Advances in the Biomedical Sciences : Clinical Trials, Epidemiology, Survival Analysis, and Bioinformatics
Atanu Biswas; Sujay Datta; Mark R. Segal; Jason P. Fine
Visualization of Spatial Social Structure
Contact Us >>
Aug 27, 2020 6:11 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
south los angeles
urban public health