Skip to Main Content

Public Health: Research Methods for Public Health

A resource guide for students and faculty in the Urban Public Health program

E-books on Research Design for Public Health

Design and Analysis of Experiments in the Health Sciences by Gerald Van Belle; Kathleen F. Kerr
John Wiley & Sons, 2012.
Getting Started in Health Research by David Bowers; Allan House; David Owens
Wiley-Blackwell/BMJ Books, 2011.
Understanding and Applying Research Design by Martin Lee Abbott; Jennifer McKinney
John Wiley & Sons, 2012.
Doing Qualitative Community Research by Ernest Quimby
ISBN: 9781608052585
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Bentham Science Publishers, 2011.
Healthcare Research : A Textbook for Students and Practitioners by Joan Hohl; Helena Priest ; Paula Roberts
Wiley-Blackwell, 2010.
Methods for Community-Based Participatory Research for Health by Barbara A. Israel (Editor); Eugenia Eng (Editor); Amy J. Schulz (Editor); Edith A. Parker (Editor)
2nd ed., Jossey-Bass, 2013.

E-books on Literature Reviews and Systematic Reviews

Systematic Reviews in Health Care : Meta-Analysis in Context by Matthias Egger; George Davey Smith; Douglas G. Altman; Iain Chalmers
2nd ed., Wiley, 2008
Systematic Reviews in Health Care : A Practical Guide by Paul Glasziou; Chris Bain; Graham Colditz; Les Irwig
Cambridge University Press, 2001
Finding What Works in Health Care : Standards for Systematic Reviews by Jill Eden; Laura Levit; Alfred Berg; Sally Morton
National Academies Press, 2011.
Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care : A Practical Guide by Helen Aveyard
2nd ed., Open University Press/McGraw-Hill, 2010.
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions
6th ed., Cochrane Collaboration, 2019.

E-books on Research with Vulnerable Populations

Inclusion : The Politics of Difference in Medical Research by Steven Epstein
University of Chicago Press, 2007.
Vulnerable Populations by Adeline Nyamathi; Deborah Koniak
Annual Review of Nursing Research, Volume 25, 2007. Springer Publishing
Recruitment and Retention in Minority Populations : Lessons Learned in Conducting Research on Health Promotion and Minority Aging by Sue Levkoff; Thomas R. Prohaska; Patricia Flynn Weitzman; Marcia G. Ory
Springer Publishing Company, 2000.
Race, Ethnicity, and Language Data : Standardization for Health Care Quality Improvement by Cheryl Ulmer; Bernadette McFadden; David R. Nerenz
National Academies Press,

Survey Methodology

Survey Research : The Basics by Keith F. Punch
SAGE Publications, 2003.

Polling Fundamentals
This set of documents from the Roper Center provides tools and instructional materials for creating public surveys.

Analyzing Health Equity Using Household Survey Data : : A Guide to Techniques and their Implementation by Eddy Van Doorslaer; Adam Wagstaff; Magnus Lindelow; Owen O'Donnell
World Bank, 2008.

Chat With A Librarian

chat loading...test

Health Sciences Library Hours

Monday – Thursday: 7:00 am – 10:00 pm

Friday: 7:00 am – 5:00 pm

Saturday: 9:00 am – 4:45 pm

Sunday: 10:00 am – 3:00 pm

*The Library will continue to keep you posted on changes in library hours.

WWW Resources on Research Methods for Public Health

Critical Appraisal of Qualitative Studies
From the Center for Evidence Based Medicine, Oxford University
Guidelines for Critical Review Form: Qualitative Studies (Version 2.0)

Research Issues in Health and Social Care by David Cowan
M&K Update, 2009.

Evidence-based Public Health Resources

The Pathway to Evidence-Based Resources in Public Health
Links to a variety of types of resources to find evidence-based practices in public health. From the Lamar Soutter Library, University of Massachusetts.
Cochrane Public Health Group
Public health resources that are part of the larger Cochrane Library. Off-campus users: The links to reports in the Cochrane Library may not work from this site. Write down the report information and use the link to the Cochrane Library from the link below.
more...less...
Off-campus users: The links to reports in the Cochrane Library may not work from this site. Write down the report information and use the link to the Cochrane Library from the library's main pages.
Tutorial on Evidence-Based Public Health
From Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce. Keep clicking on "Next" to move through the tutorial.
Effective Public Health Practice Project Quality Assessment Tool For Quantitative Studies
This is a checklist that can be used to evaluate articles for inclusion in systematic reviews or other uses.
Effective Public Health Practice Project Quality Assessment Tool for Quantitative Studies Dictionary
Defines terms in EPHPP quality tool above.
Evidence-Based Reports
A collection of reports from the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research.

The Philosophy of Evidence-Based Medicine by Jeremy H. Howick
Wiley-Blackwell, 2012.

Clinical Practice Guidelines from the National Guideline Clearinghouse
Clinical practice guidelines are a format for evidence-based practice. This searchable database from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality is a collection from many agencies. Many have free full text.
Campbell Collaboration
Systematic Reviews in the Social Sciences