LibGuides at the CDU Health Sciences Library: Public Health: Diseases, Prevention, and Surveillance

Websites

Trials Register of Promoting Health Interventions (TRoPHI)
A searchable database of public health intervention trials.
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
From the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Data and tools on several of the significant chronic diseases threatening the health of Americans.
Behavioral risk Factor surveillance system (BRFSS)
The BRFSS is the world's largest ongoing telephone survey. Data from the survey and analytical tools available.
Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS)
A school-based survey, the YRBSS collects data on the behaviors that affect the health of young people.

Resource Box : Aging

Older Americans : Key Indicators of Well-Being
From the US Federal Interagency Forum on Aging and AgingStats.gov
Aging Population Issues : Health Services Research Information Central
An extensive list of links to data, reports, and organizations. The HSRIC is a research portal of the US National Library of Medicine.

Dementia
World Health Organization, 2012.

Resource Box : Cancer

CDC Cancer Prevention and Control
The US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention brings you statistics, information pages about specific cancers, and links to their programs, tools, and other content.
CDC National Program of Cancer Registries
On this site are reports on cancer occurrence, searchable data, and tools for analyzing cancer data.
Find Cancer Statistics
This page from the National Cancer Institute provides reports for individual cancer, and also links to other statistical site.

The Unequal Burden of Cancer by M. Alfred Haynes; Brian D. Smedley
National Academies Press, 1999.
The Health Implications of Disparities in Cancer and Pain Care : Unequal Burdens and Unheard Voices by Carmen R. Green
Chapter 79 in Honorio Benzon; James P. Rathmell; Christopher L. Wu; Dennis C. Turk; Charles E. Argoff; Robert W. Hurley, Practical Management of Pain, 5th ed., Saunders/Elsevier, 2014.

Resource Box : Children and Youth

Break the Silence : Stop the Violence
A short video from the US CDC on teen date violence.
Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS)
A school-based survey to collect and report the occurrence of unhealthy behaviors among children and youth.
Kids Count
Tracks and reports on the well-being of children. Use the data center to find specific statistics. Annie E. Casey Foundation.
Child Health USA
This site has the current and past reports on health status and service needs of children in the US. From the US Health Resources and Services Administration.
Child Health Services Research
An extensive list of links to data, reports, and organizations. The HSRIC is a research portal of the US National Library of Medicine.
Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development
The NICHD is one of the National Institutes of Health. This page has information on a wide variety of topics, and includes links to outside resources.

School-Based Health Care : Advancing Educational Success and Public Health by Terri D. Wright; Jeanita W. Richardson
American Public Health Association, 2012.
Injury Prevention for Children and Adolescents by Karen DeSafey Liller; American Public Health Association Staff (Contribution by)
2nd ed., American Public Health Association, 2012.

Resource Box : Chronic diseases

Health Equity Pages of the CDC Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion Program
Links to sites addressing disparities in a wide variety of chronic illnesses.
Chronic Disease GIS Exchange
Learn to make maps showing the geospatial distribution of chronic diseases. From the US Center for Disease Control and Prevention.

Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder and Chronic Health Conditions by Steven S. Coughlin
American Public Health Association, 2013.
Chronic Disease Epidemiology and Control by Patrick L. Remington; Ross C. Brownson; Mark V. Wegner; American Public Health Association Staff (Contribution by)
3rd ed., American Public Health Association, 2010.
Health Disparities in Nephrology by Yoshio N. Hall
Chapter 83 in Alan S. L. Yu; Karl Skorecki; Glenn M. Chertow; Philip A. Marsden; Maarten W. Taal; Valerie Luyckx Brenner and Rectors's the Kidney, 11th ed, Elsevier, 2020.
Translating Chronic Illness Research into Practice by Debbie Kralik; Vivien Coates; Barbara Paterson
Wiley-Blackwell, 2010.

Resource Box: Diabetes

CDC Diabetes Public Health Resource
Data, programs, and other content on this site from the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Diabetes Public Health : From Data to Policy by K. M. Venkat Narayan (Editor); Desmond Williams (Editor); Edward W. Gregg (Editor); Catherine C. Cowie (Editor)
Oxford University Press, 2011,
Epidemiology of Type 2 Diabetes by Qing Qiao
Bentham Science Publishers, 2012.
Making the Mexican Diabetic by Michael Montoya
University of California Press, 2011.

About This Page

This page contains resources about the public health functions of surveillance and prevention of diseases. It contains links to ebooks and government agencies and other groups charged with this function. In addition, it contains several resource boxes for individual diseases of public health significance or that are particularly affected by racial/ethnic disparities. These boxes contain a variety of resources, such as ebooks, echapters, or other links. Scroll down the page to browse the boxes, or select from the list below.

Resource Box : Disability, Injury, and Violence

Violence Prevention
Programs supported by the US CDC to prevent interpersonal violence. Links to data and reports on a wide variety of forms of violence.
Injury Prevention and Control
Programs at the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention to assess the effects of injury and violence and find ways to prevent them.
Disability and Health
Initiatives within the US federal government to improve the health of people with disabilities. Includes reports, data, and links to other resources. From the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Patient Safety Network
From the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, this resource is an extensive collection of information on preventing errors and injury in healthcare.

Healthy and Safe Homes by Rebecca Morley; Angela Mickalide; Karin A. Mack; American Public Health Association Staff (Contribution by)
American Public Health Association, 2011.
Disability and Public Health by Charles E. Drum; Gloria L. Krahn ; Hank Bersani
American Public Health Association, 2009.
Epidemiological Criminology: A Public Health Approach to Crime and Violence by Timothy A. Akers; Roberto H. Potter; Carl V. Hill
John Wiley & Sons, 2013.
Youth Violence : Interventions for Health Care Provicers by Robert D. Ketterlinus
American Public Health Association, 2008.
Health Effects on Computer Users : Preventive Measures for the New Millennium by Satish Pal
Himalaya Publishing, 2010.

Resource guide : infectious diseases, including HIV/aids

HIV/AIDS - Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce
Links to groups, data and reports.

Emerging Infectious Diseases : A Guide to Diseases, Causative Agents, and Surveillance by Lisa A. Beltz
Jossey-Bass, 2011.
Dawning Answers by Ronald O. Valdiserri
Oxford University Press, 2003.
Public Health Aspects of Infectious Disease Control by Kathleen H. Harriman and Laurene Mascola
Chapter 247 in James Cherry; Gail J. Demmler-Harrison; Sheldon L. Kaplan; William J. Steinbach; Peter J. Hotez, Feigin and Cherry's Textbook of Pediatric Infectious Diseases. 8th ed., Elsevier, 2019.
Geography of Infectious Diseases by Mary Elizabeth Wilson
Chapter 106 of Cohen, Jonathan, Powderly, William G., Opal, Steven M. Infectious Diseases. 4th ed., Elsevier, 2017.
Communicable Disease Control and Health Protection Handbook by Jeremy Hawker; Norman Begg; Obaghe Edeghere; Karl Ekdahl; Ralf Reintjes; Jim E. van Steenbergen
4rd ed., John Wiley & Sons, 2019.
Controlling Communicable Disease by Norman Noah
McGraw-Hill, 2006.
Infectious Disease : Pathogenesis, Prevention and Case Studies by Nandini Shetty; Julie Andrews; J. W. Tang
Wiley-Blackwell, 2009.
Education and HIV/AIDS : A Sourcebook of HIV/AIDS Prevention Programs by Alexandria Valerio; Donald A. P. Bundy; World Bank Staff
World Bank, 2004.

Resource Box : Heart Disease and Stroke

CDC Division for Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention
Data, program tools, and other content from the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Sex and Ethnicity Issues in Interventional Cardiology by Matthew R. Summers, Sahar Naderi and Leslie Cho
Chapter 9 of Topol, Eric J., Teirstein, Paul S. Textobook of Interventional Cardiology. 8th ed., Elsevier, 2020.

Immigrant Health

Refugee Health Clinical Topics
Special considerations for care and screening of patients who ar refugees. From EthnoMed.
Immigrant and Refugee Health
This site contains resources on the health issues of persons and animals crossing into or out of the United States. From the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Health Screening in Immigrants, Refugees, and International Adoptions by Carmen R. Green
Chapter 19 in Christopher A. Sanford; Elaine C. Jong; Paul S. Pottinger, Travel and Tropical Medicine Manual, 5th ed. Elsevier, 2017.
Migrant, Immigrant, and Refugee Health by Luis S. Ortega; Rachel B. Eidex; Martin S. Cetron
Chapter 127 in Richard L. Guerrant; David H. Walker; Peter F. Weller, Tropical Infectious Diseases : Principles, Pathogens and Practice, 3rd ed., Elsevier, 2011.

Men's Health

Social Determinants of Health among African-American Men by Henrie M. Treadwell; Clare Xanthos; Kisha B. Holden
2nd ed., Jossey-Bass, 2013

Chat With A Librarian

chat loading...test

Health Sciences Library Hours

Monday – Thursday: 7:00 am – 10:00 pm

Friday: 7:00 am – 5:00 pm

Saturday: 9:00 am – 4:45 pm

Sunday: 10:00 am – 3:00 pm

*The Library will continue to keep you posted on changes in library hours.

Groups and Agencies

US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
The CDC is the agency of the US government charged with the public health function of diseases. Many of its individual programs are included in the resource boxes on this page.
US Preventive Services Task Force
A function of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, this agency monitors the effects of preventive measures. This site includes reports and other data resulting from the task force.

E-books on Diseases, Surveillance, and Prevention

The Geographic Spread of Infectious Diseases : Models and Applications by Lisa Sattenspiel
Princeton University Press, 2009.
Handbook of Biosurveillance by Michael M. Wagner; Andrew W. Moore; Ron M. Aryel
Academic Press/Elsevier, 2006.
Communicable Disease Control and Health Protection Handbook by Jeremy Hawker; Norman Begg; Obaghe Edeghere; Karl Ekdahl; Ralf Reintjes; Jim E. van Steenbergen
4rd ed., John Wiley & Sons, 2019.
Atlas of Human Infectious Diseases by Heiman F. L. Wertheim; John P. Woodall; Peter Horby
Wiley-Blackwell, 2012.

Resource Box : Mental Health and Substance Abuse

CDC Mental Health Program
Data and reports on mental health from the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
An information outlet of the US Department of Health and Human Services. Links to programs, reports, and other content.
Evidence-Based Practices Resource Center
Search this registry for mental health- or substance abuse-related interventions. From the US Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration.
National Institute on Drug Abuse
One of the National Institutes of Health, this agency supports research on the prevention and treatment of drug abuse.

Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder and Chronic Health Conditions by Steven S. Coughlin
American Public Health Association, 2013.
Evaluating the Impact of Prevention and Early Intervention Activities on the Mental Health of California's Population by Katherine E. Watkins; M. Audrey Burnam; Edward N. Okeke; Claude Messan Setodji
RAND Corporation, 2012.

Resource Box : Nutrition and Physical Activity

Nutrition - Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce
A large collection of links to government agencies, organizations, data and reports.
Food Environment Atlas
Graphical display of county-level data relating to food: grocery stores, restaurants, food insecurity, etc. From the US Department of Agriculture, Economic Research Service.
Food Access Research Atlas
Enter an address and generate census tract-level maps on a variety of food access-related indicators. From the US Department of Agriculture, Economic Research Service.