LibGuides at the CDU Health Sciences Library: Public Health: Global/International Health

E-books on Global/International Health

Understanding Global Health by William Markle; Melanie Fisher; Ray Smego
2nd ed., McGraw-Hill/Lange, 2014
Textbook of International Health : Global Health in a Dynamic World by Anne-Emanuelle Birn : Yogan Pillay; Timothy H. Holtz
3rd ed., Oxford University Press, 2009.
Toward Equity in Health : A New Global Approach to Health Disparities by Barbara C. Wallace
Springer Publishing Company, 2007.
Vulnerability in Developing Countries by Wim Naudé; Amelia U. Santos-Paulino; Mark McGillivray
United Nations University Press, 2009.
Megacities and Global Health by Omar A. Khan; Gregory Pappas;
American Public Health Association Press, 2011.

Global/International Health by the Numbers: Statistical Sources

WHO Global Health Observatory
Using this site, you can retrieve reports or search the data repository for specific information you need.
Global Health Data Exchange
The Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation compiles health data from hundreds of sites world-wide into a massive file. You can retrieve the standard reports or submit your own search.
Global Health Policy
From the Kaiser Family Foundation. Contains demographic data and vital statistics from many countries. Statistics on some diseases and health economic data.
Health Nutrition and Population Statistics
From the World Bank. Searchable databank of 214 countries.
MEASURE DHS
Health surveys and data from across the world. Funded by USAID.

Comparative Health Systems

Please click on the below links to access global health system data and statistics:

Canada	Cuba
France	Germany
Mexico	Nigeria
Russia	United Kingdom

CIA World Factbook

The Commonwealth Fund

Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development

Rand Corporation

World Health Organization (WHO)

Research Databases for Global/International Health

Use the following databases to find articles on your research topic. The journal titles indexed by each database and the mechanics of searching differ, but all of the databases link directly to full text articles in our subscribed journals, unless otherwise indicated.

PubMed
The premier database in the health sciences. From the National Library of Medicine. Use this link or the link on the CDU Health Sciences Library to access the version of PubMed customized for CDU.
Public Health Database from Proquest
Indexes a broad selection of journals in public health and related fields.
Academic Search Elite (EBSCOhost)
Database contains full text for more than 2,100 journals and over 1,700 peer-reviewed, full text journals; CDU linked. This is a multi-disciplinary database covering virtually every area of academia, as well as current hot topics.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches for articles, books, and other scholarly content from many publishers, and attempts to provide links to the full text. When searching Google Scholar, just click on Full Text @CDREWU.EDU on the right-hand side of the screen to see if we have access to the full text.

Virtual Health Library
A Service provided by PAHO/WHO. Searches many journals not in PubMed, as well as reports from various agencies. Many artices have full text (but not PDF) within the database. As this database focuses on Latin America, many of the articles are in Spanish or Portuguese. No links to subscribed journals.

Resource Box: Global/International Health

Supercourse : Epidemiology, the Internet, and Global Health
A repository of lectures on global health from scientists all over the world. The collection is produced by the WHO Collaborating Center at the University of Pittsburgh.

Other E-books on Global/International Health

Atlas of Human Infectious Diseases by Heiman F. L. Wertheim; John P. Woodall; Peter Horby
Wiley-Blackwell, 2012.
Case Book on Ethical Issues in International Health Research by World Health Organization: Regional Office for South-East Asia Staff
World Health Organization, 2009.
The Challenges of Creating a Global Health Resource Tracking System by Elisa Eiseman; Donna Fossum
2005, RAND Corporation
Ethics in Health Services and Policy : A Global Approach by Dean M. Harris
Jossey-Bass, 2011.
Educating Health Professionals in Low-Resource Countries : A Global Approach by Joyce P. Murray
Springer Publishing Company, 2011.
Global Healthgrid : e-Science Meets Biomedical Informatics by Tony Solomonides
IOS Press, 2008.
The Handbook of Global Health Communication by Rafael Obregon; Silvio Waisbord
Wiley-Blackwell, 2012.
International Perspectives in Health Informatics - Studies in Health Technology and Informatics by E. M. Borycki; J. A. Bartle-Clar
IOS Press, 2011
Assessing the Environmental Burden of Disease at National and Local Levels : Introduction and Methods by Annete Pruss=Ustun; Colin Mathers; Carlos Corvalan; Alistair Woodward
World Health Organization, 2003

Chat With A Librarian

chat loading...test

Health Sciences Library Hours

Monday – Thursday: 7:00 am – 10:00 pm

Friday: 7:00 am – 5:00 pm

Saturday: 9:00 am – 4:45 pm

Sunday: 10:00 am – 3:00 pm

*The Library will continue to keep you posted on changes in library hours.

International/Global Health Agencies and Groups

The Aga Khan Foundation (AKF)
the Aga Khan Foundation (AKF) brings together human, financial and technical resources to address the challenges faced by the poorest and most marginalised communities in the world.
Atlantic Fellows for Racial and Health Equity (AFRE)
The Atlantic Fellows for Racial Equity (AFRE) is a network of changemakers from South Africa and the United States, building solidarity and action for a more equitable future.
Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation
This site describes many of the Foundation's projects in Global Health and Development.
Centers for Disease Control (CDC)
As the nation's health protection agency, CDC saves lives and protects people from health, safety, and security threats.
Health Resources & Services Agency (HRSA)
he Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), an agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary federal agency for improving health care to people who are geographically isolated, economically or medically vulnerable.
Office of Global Affairs (OGA)
From the U. S. Department of Health and Human Services. Describes US participation in health initiatives all over the world, with links to many other partners.
Pan American Health Organizaton (PAHO)
PAHO is a regional office of WHO for South, Central, and North America. Look here for regional initiatives and statistics.
President’s Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief (PEPFAR)
The U.S. President’s Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief (PEPFAR) is the largest commitment by any nation to address a single disease in history. PEPFAR shows the power of what is possible through compassionate, cost-effectiveness, accountable, and transparent American foreign assistance.
United Nations Human Rights Council (UNHRC)
The Human Rights Council is an inter-governmental body within the United Nations system made up of 47 States responsible for the promotion and protection of all human rights around the globe. It has the ability to discuss all thematic human rights issues and situations that require its attention throughout the year.
United States Agency for International Development (USAID)
USAID provides timely and effective humanitarian response, bringing disaster relief and lifesaving assistance amidst complex crises.
US Peace Corps
The Peace Corps is a service opportunity for motivated changemakers to immerse themselves in a community abroad, working side by side with local leaders to tackle the most pressing challenges of our generation.
World Federation of Public Health Associations (WFPHA)
Check out what's going on in the public health profession world wide.
World Health Organization (WHO)
Information on current initiatives in international health, statistics, and past research. Includes current and archived reports of disease outbreaks.

For Your Viewing Pleasure

Rx for Survival: A Global Health Challenge
This is a series of videos on public health challenges and successes around the world.
Global Health and Human Development
Relates health status to general human development. Examples from a variety of sites worldwide.