LibGuides at the CDU Health Sciences Library: Biomedical Sciences: Databases

Biomedical Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature database, is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health. Over 5,500 nursing and allied health journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, CEs, books, dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, software, and more are components of this resource. Full text coverage dates from 1937 to present.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window
Covers nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, consumer health, and more. ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides access to 1,200+ titles (1,050+ full text titles), plus more than 15,700 full text dissertations
ProQuest Public Health This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Public Health covers the core public health literature,with access to over 750 publications (520+ full-text), including journals, news, trade publications, reports & dissertations. Additionally, the database covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from the social and biological sciences to business for current hot topics such as disaster preparedness, obesity, etc. Coverage: 1972-present
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Search for medical articles using the OvidSP search interface.
MEDLINE Plus Health Information This link opens in a new window

NOTE: Journal articles are also part of the Clinical Key and LWW Health Library e-book platforms. We suggest researchers use PubMed and other biomedical databases first to avoid redundancy.

POINT OF CARE/CLINICAL DATABASE

UpToDate
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource (Point of Care) that covers more than 10,000 topics in 22 medical specialties which includes articles, graphics, patient information handouts, medical calculators, a drug database and drug interactions tool (in partnership with Lexicomp®). Quickly and easily find specific, practical recommendations for diagnosis and treatment to your clinical questions.

SPECIALITY DATABASES:

PsycINFO (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO supplies access to international literature in psychology, mental health, and the behavioral sciences. The database is enriched with literature from related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. All records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. Coverage 1800s to present.

LactMed Drugs and Lactation Database
From TOXNET, the Toxicology Data Network of the National Library of Medicine.

More Databases

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
A web-based video streaming platform of high-quality health and medicine academic or archival videos (5000+). Sources include TED, PBS, BBC, National Geographic and others. The videos are organized into multiple broad subjects, then further divided into narrower subjects. Individual segments subdivide each video into discrete shorter units to target watching. Each video includes a transcript and a citation for attribution.
PsycINFO (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO supplies access to international literature in psychology, mental health, and the behavioral sciences. The database is enriched with literature from related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. All records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. Coverage 1800s to present.

STAT!Ref Mobile

Accessing STAT! Ref mobile involves downloading the app from either iTunes or the Android Market, setting up a personal user account on the regular version of STAT! Ref, and using that personal account as your mobile login. The process is simple and is detailed in the document below:

How to Access STAT! Ref Mobile

Google Scholar

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches for articles, books, and other scholarly content from many publishers, and attempts to provide links to the full text. When searching Google Scholar, just click on Full Text @CDREWU.EDU on the right-hand side of the screen to see if we have access to the full text.