LibGuides at the CDU Health Sciences Library: College of Medicine: Databases

Google Scholar

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches for articles, books, and other scholarly content from many publishers, and attempts to provide links to the full text. When searching Google Scholar, just click on Full Text @CDREWU.EDU on the right-hand side of the screen to see if we have access to the full text.

UpToDate

UpToDate
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource (Point of Care) that covers more than 10,000 topics in 22 medical specialties which includes articles, graphics, patient information handouts, medical calculators, a drug database and drug interactions tool (in partnership with Lexicomp®). Quickly and easily find specific, practical recommendations for diagnosis and treatment to your clinical questions.

Databases at the CDU Library

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey (Elsevier) is a clinical decision-making support tool providing quick access to full-text medical and surgical resources including ebooks (1000+), journal articles, clinical practice guidelines, point-of-care clinical monographs, procedural guides, images, videos, drug information, and patient education handouts. This platform includes First Consult point-of-care guide ; Procedures Consult surgical videos; Clinical Pharmacology drug monographs and Practice Guidelines from the National Guideline Clearinghouse. ClincalKey is mobile friendly - no app is necessary.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Stat!Ref This link opens in a new window
Point of Care research tool. 40+ titles in medicine, nursing, and public health Browse by title or search/topic cross-search across all titles. Good for: students in all CDU programs Download citation to Endnote or create bibliography entry. Mobile-optimized version available.

More Databases

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine (McGraw-Hill Medical) is a comprehensive online resource that provides access to 200+ medical ebooks, in addition to videos and self-assessment tools. Medical students have access to basic sciemce and placement resources. This platform assists residents, nurse practitioners, physician assitants, and physicians with quick access to authoritative information and the ability to brush up on their medical knowledge. Includes access to diagnosaurus, which provides differential diagnoses (DDx) of symptoms, signs, and diseases for over 1000+ differential diagnoses by symptoms, diseases, & organ systems.
MEDLINE Plus Health Information This link opens in a new window
Consumer health information for patients.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
A web-based video streaming platform of high-quality health and medicine academic or archival videos (5000+). Sources include TED, PBS, BBC, National Geographic and others. The videos are organized into multiple broad subjects, then further divided into narrower subjects. Individual segments subdivide each video into discrete shorter units to target watching. Each video includes a transcript and a citation for attribution.
PsycINFO (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO supplies access to international literature in psychology, mental health, and the behavioral sciences. The database is enriched with literature from related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. All records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. Coverage 1800s to present.

Chat With A Librarian

chat loading...test

Health Sciences Library Hours

Monday – Thursday: 7:00 am – 10:00 pm

Friday: 7:00 am – 5:00 pm

Saturday: 9:00 am – 4:45 pm

Sunday: 10:00 am – 3:00 pm

*The Library will continue to keep you posted on changes in library hours.

Pub Med Mobile

PubMed Mobile

PubMed produces a mobile-friendly version of their website at:

PubMed Mobile

A number of different PubMed iPhone and Android apps produced by independent developers exist as well. Some of them are free, and some cost money to download.

One free example of such an app is "Pub Med Tap Lite" for the iPhone/iPad. It searches PubMed for articles and displays 10 results for you, with links to full-text if available. It likewise allows you to enter your university's "EZ Proxy" information, so that if your university has full-text access to an article in PubMed, you will see a clearly displayed link to the material.

The upgraded, non-free version of the app presumably allows you to access more than 10 articles per search, and provides you with other useful features.