Welcome to the Anatomy and Physiology LibGuide.
On this page you will find links to the library's collection of ebooks, covering anatomy and physiology of the whole body, as well as that of individual body systems. There is also a collection of websites to support your learning. Some of these contain interactive features to test your learning. Lastly is a collection of videos that visually demonstrate A&P concepts.
Getting Started: The following ebooks (also included in the listings below) provide a good starting place for your study of Anatomy and physiology:
Essentials of Anatomy and Physiology, by Valerie C. Scanlon and Tina Sanders. 8th ed., F. A. Davis, 2019
Physiology, by Linda S. Costanzo. 5th ed., Saunders/Elsevier, 2014.
Gray's Anatomy for Students. by Richard L. Drake, A. Wayne Vogl, and Adam W. M. Mitchell. 3rd ed., Churchill Liningstone/Elsevier, 2015.
Getting Around : You can scroll down the page or use the following links to find the resource you want.
For an extensive collection of medical illustrations illustrating the anatomy and physiology of the human body, check out the Netter Collection. This collection of ebooks includes illustrations of all parts of the body, many in conjunction with medical imaging. In addition, the images are used in the context of basic biomedical sciences and clinical medicine.
Anatomy and Physiology Ebooks by Body Region
The boxes below contain specialized Anatomy and Physiology Ebooks.
The New Living Body A collection of 10 20-minute videos on various bodily systems and functions from Films on Demand. Each clip features live action and medical imaging
Anatomy of Digestion: Explores the anatomy of the organs of digestion. From Films on Demand.
Anatomy of the Shoulder: Using live models and lab specimens, this video demonstrates the bones and supporting structures of the shoulder at rest and in motion.
The Anatomy of Movement: Using dissection specimens, the bones, muscles, ligaments, tendons and nerves controlling skeletal movement are demonstrated. From Films on Demand.
Anatomy of Reproduction: Using cadavers and MRI imaging, this video explores the reproductive systems of males and females.
Anatomy of Circulation: Using a cadaveric dissection specimen, demonstrates the path of oxygen-filled blood through the body.
LUMEN Learn 'Em : Check your knowledge of anatomical structures on this site form Loyola University. There are many other anatomy resources on the LUMEN site.
anatomyEXPERT - A collection of drawings, photos and animations of body parts. Includes a brief description of the function of individual elements.
Human Anatomy Learning Modules: From Dartmouth University, this site displays anatomical specimens to test your recognition.
LUMEN Cross-Sectional Anatomy Tutorial : From Loyola University, Chicago.
e-Skeletons Great photos in individual bones from different angles. You can look at human bones and compare them with those of other primates. From the University of Texas, Austin.
Skeletal System Tutorials from Gateway Community College. Mouse over a bone or a bone region, guess the name of the red area, then click for the answer.
The Anatomy Lesson: From Georgetown University, this site demonstrates skeletal anatomy, including related muscles, nerves, etc. Landmarks on each structure and the outside of the body are pointed out. In each section, there is a test to assess your understanding.
Interactive Neuroanatomy Atlas : From Columbia University. Uses diagrams, specimens and sections to demonstrate structures in the nervous system. Some functions may require Flash, QuickTime, and or Shockwave.
Atlas of the Brain: Using anatomical specimens and radiological images, this site from Georgetown University tests your recognition of features of the human brain.